MEETING GOD IN YOUR NEIGHBOR

Monday 23rd February – Monday of the 1st Week of Lent

Reflection: Matthew 25:31-46

MEETING GOD IN YOUR NEIGHBOR

God always seeks communion with His children. In the Sacraments, He comes to meet us in signs such as the Eucharist and the priest at the confessional but our lack of faith and worldly minds often prevent us from recognising Him. Yet, Christ tells us that He stands at the door of our hearts, knocking” (cf Rev 3:20). Beloved in Christ, what is your response to God’s divine appointments with you?

Today’s reading reveals that God is closer to us than we can ever imagine – in the every needy person around us. Our works of mercy to those in need are actions which have an eternal value. Christ approaches us each day as a neighbour in need but do we pay close attention to recognize him? Are we still oblivious of the opportunities given to us to channel our treasures to our eternal home (cf Mt 6:20)?

As our Lord illustrated with the parable of the Good Samaritan (Lk 10:25-36), attending to the needs of others is putting God first in our lives. It implies that we are placing our eternity at the top of our dreams in life and positioning ourselves to be blessed by God. (Mt 25:34). It is never too late to choose to be on the right hand side of God on judgment day. The thief on the cross recognised Christ at his last moment and was saved. Let us always be conscious of Christ presence in our neighbour and willingly extend our hands to them in charity. This season of Lent, look out for those in need: your schoolmate, sibling, parents, a street beggar, an elderly neighbour, a child, your colleague at work etc and offer some help.

PRAYER: Lord Jesus, please open my eyes that I may see you in my neighbour and respond to their needs with love. Amen.

KNOW YOUR FAITH: CCC 2463 – How can we not recognise Lazarus, the hungry beggar in the parable, in the multitude of human beings without bread, a roof or a place to stay? How can we fail to hear Jesus: “As you did it not to one of the least of these, you did it not to me” (Mt 25:45)?

HIDE A TREASURE: “…whenever you refused to help one of these least important ones, you refused to help me” Matthew 25:45 GNB

Today’s Readings: Leviticus 19:1-2, 11-18; Psalm 19:8-10,15; Matthew 25:31-46

2 thoughts on “MEETING GOD IN YOUR NEIGHBOR

  1. ‘Whatsoever you do to the least of my brothers, that you do unto me…’

    I remember two friends from when I was in school and somehow they always figured when I was broke and would find a way to give me a little cash or get me to come to their house and eat. Or they would ask me if I had enough money to do the things I needed to do, pay fees and stuff. Now I knew they didn’t have so much but they went out of their way to do these things. And I never had to ask.

    That’s an important point for me. Don’t wait to be asked for help. Yes, people can be touchy and ultra sensitive and proud. But you have to try, stretch out a hand, show you care.

    What if I can’t help? What if it’s a situation like overdue rent? What I try to do is stay involved. I might mot have the financial support to give, but I can give moral support. Recently I had reason to hear from people close to me and it was funny that when I felt I wasn’t helping much because I couldn’t exactly give what they needed, they appreciated my being there. It was a huge lesson for me.

    God is in every one of us. Especially those in need.

    PS: Thanks for this devotional. It’s become a big part of my daily reflection.

    • Sure, until we come to recognise Christ in everyone around us, our understanding and practice of love will remain shallow.

      Thanks alot for your comment.
      I’m happy the devotional is of great help to you. Pls do share it with others.

Leave a Reply

